It’s common knowledge these days that when you dispose of a cell phone, you should format it so that your personal information is deleted. This way, after initialization, you can borrow or sell your device without fear. This is a mistake! It is not enough that the contents of the phone cannot be accessed. Of course, the mobile phone must be initialized before the sale, but after that more preventive measures must be taken.
In an age where buying and selling refurbished or refurbished cell phones is common, formatting has become a must before conducting these types of transactions. In fact, if you want to know how to format an existing smartphone, we will explain here How to do a factory reset. A secret that few users know is that even if you format your device, the “deleted” data remains on your device.
When you delete a file from a digital device, you don’t actually delete it, you block access to it and bypass its overwrite protection. So this way when you delete files from a device you are actually deleting the link to it, simple as that. This content is not easily accessible and the average user wouldn’t know how to do it, but your data is still not fully protected if you don’t do anything before formatting.
Yes, it can be confusing that you thought your entire life’s content was completely gone when you hit the “Delete” button, or at least in apps like Gallery, files disappeared after deleting a photo or video from the temporary trash. But that’s not the case because the phone protocol that implements it doesn’t work that way, and they were never deleted, those files just disappeared from your sight.
– The secret of overwriting files
Formatting is still an important step to prevent anyone from easily accessing your data, so when you want to get rid of a cell phone, don’t hesitate to format it to prevent easy access to your content. But then you have to protect your personal content by filling your phone’s memory with less relevant content, forcing your mobile’s memory to replace new content with old content.
As for this type of overwriting procedure that completely prevents access to your phone’s files, there are special apps in the app stores that are responsible for filling your cell phone’s memory with unreadable binary codes, like the app we explained years ago in this lesson below. , and you can download it from this link
However, compensation can easily be achieved by downloading large files that are of no particular value to your mobile phone, such as heavy video games or the like. The important thing is to refill the storage with random files and delete them to replace your personal files that you don’t want to restore.
This way, you don’t have to worry about the personal content of your smartphone falling into unknown hands, because the overwriting process cannot be reversed, and no one can retrieve and use the overwritten files after deletion. So don’t forget: After formatting the phone, refill the memory to overwrite the formatted files!